…from Darmstadt… 70 Years of New Music // May 9, 10, 11 8pm // Roulette

Darmstadt Institute New York in collaboration with the Goethe Institut and the Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD) presents:

…from Darmstadt… 70 Years of New Music
// May 9, 10, 11 8pm // RouletteStockhausen_01-1024x712 (1)

509 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, NY, 11217

General Admission: $20
Members/Students/Seniors: $15/$25/20
Doors at 7pm


After 70 years of legendary new music emerging from the International Music Institute at Darmstadt, a group of leading New York based ensembles come together to celebrate a legacy of radical innovation. Established in 1946, the Darmstadt Summer Course emerged as one of the most critical epicenters for international contemporary music. Since the festival’s beginnings, many of the twentieth century’s most influential composers and performers have premiered major works and engaged in fierce debates about the future of music. Throughout the years, faculty and students at Darmstadt have included Karlheinz Stockhausen, Györty Ligeti, John Cage, Pierre Boulez, Olivier Messiaen, Brian Ferneyhough and Luigi Nono.

Festival highlights include the New York premiere of Matthias Spahlinger’s “Extension,” Karlheinz Stockhausen’s “Mikrophonie I,” and “Zeitmasse,” John Cage’s “Concert for Piano and Orchestra,” Luigi Nono’s “Polifonica Monodica Ritmica” (premiered at Darmstadt in 1951) and “Etudes from the Anthropocene” from “The Force of Things” by Ashley Fure (premiering at the Darmstadt Summer Courses this July), as well as a rare NYC performance by Darmstadt faculty member Jennifer Walshe, and a rare documentary screening of Helmut Lachenmann’s “Pression” by Arditti Quartet cellist Lucas Fels to be screened at the Goethe Institut NYC cultural center. Additionally, the festival will feature lectures by Darmstadt Faculty member Jennifer Walshe and a panel discussion preceding the concert on May 10th with Thomas Schäfer, director of the Darmstadt Musikinstitut, Joshua Rubin of ICE Ensemble, Martin Iddon, author of the book “New Music at Darmstadt,” published by Cambridge University Press, and special guests.

Darmstadt “Classics of the Avant Garde” is the Brooklyn-based contemporary music series led by composer-musicians Zach Layton and Nick Hallett. Originally started as a “listening party” of avant-garde recordings at Galapagos Art Space, Darmstadt quickly evolved into a live performance series in residence at ISSUE Project Room, and was included in the New York Times Best of New Music rundown on numerous occasions and critically acclaimed for its annual all-star performance celebration of Terry Riley’s in C. Darmstadt NYC is thrilled to collaborate with the Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt.


Supported by:

Goethe Institut New York
Andrew Mellon Foundation and the Eugene Lang College for Liberal Arts
Friends of Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt


Zach Layton: zachlayton@gmail.com
Thomas Schäfer: zeitmusik@gmail.com


MAY 9, 8pm:

Wet Ink Ensemble:
Matthias Spahlinger – “Extension” (1979-80): violin & piano
– Eric Wubbels, Piano
– Joshua Modney, Violin

more information: Wet Ink Ensemble – Roulette


Jennifer Walshe – “The Total Mountain”

more information: Jennifer Walshe – Roulette

May 10, 8pm:

ICE – International Contemporary Ensemble:
Luigi Nono: “Polifonica-Monodica-Ritmica” (1951)
(premiered in Darmstadt, July 10, 1951)
Ashley Fure: “Etudes from the Anthropocene from The Force of Things” (2015)
(The Force of Things will receive its World Premiere in Darmstadt in July)
Chaya Czernowin:  Ayre: “Towed through plumes, thicket, asphalt, sawdust and
hazardous air I shall not forget the sound of” (2016) [WORLD PREMIERE]

Mivos Quartet:
 – Helmut Lachenmann, String Quartet No. 3 “GRIDO” (2001)
Scott Wollschleger, String Quartet No. 2 “White Wall” (2014)

more information: ICE // Mivos Quartet – 70 Year Anniversary – Roulette

May 11, 8pm

Talea Ensemble:
 – Karlheinz Stockhausen – “Mikrophonie I” (1964)

The Orchestra of the SEM Ensemble
 – Petr KotikMusic for 3 (1964)
Alvin SingletonBe Natural (1974)
Morton FeldmanWhy Patterns? (1978)
Karlheinz StockhausenZeitmaße (1955-56)
John CageConcert for Piano and Orchestra (1957-58), two-orchestra version

more information: Talea Ensemble // SEM Ensemble – 70 Year Anniversary – Roulette

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s